Mid-Week Quickie: Vegetarian Sloppy Joes


As I’ve ventured into my significantly-less-carnivorous diet, I have been a little wary about meat substitutes. But I love the Morningstar Chik Patties, so I figured I’d give their meatless crumbles a try. I didn’t feel like spaghetti, so after a little brainstorming, I settled on makeshift sloppy joes. Now, to see if I can remember how I made them…

ingredients
1 bag meatless crumbles
1 onion
1/2 c. ketchup
1/2 of a 14 oz can diced tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
hot sauce to taste
olive oil

instructions
1. Food process that onion.

2. Heat 1-2 tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat and add the onion. Salt the onion lightly, and saute about 3 minutes until translucent.

3. Add the crumbles. Let them cook awhile until they are hot – make sure to check the package for specific cooking instructions.

4. Add in all the other ingredients one at a time, stirring to mix. Let that all simmer for a minute or two once combined.
5. Serve over toasted hamburger buns or rolls of your choosing!

Leave a Reply

