Mid-Week Quickie: Mushroom Walnut Tofu Burgers


I think the noticeable lack of meat dishes on my blog bears mentioning. Over the last few years I’ve read all the books about local food, and small producers, and become more and more disturbed by the factory farm industry. Finally, this year, I committed to significantly reducing the amount of meat I eat. So while I’m not entirely vegetarian (as you can see from the various chicken recipes), I generally don’t cook meat at home. The good news is, meatless food does not have to be boring (or filled with granola, as the myth seems to be).

Today I was reading Bon Apetit while I got my oil changed, and they had a recipe for wild mushroom cakes. That got me thinking that I had a bunch of things in the fridge I wanted to use up, and that I had everything I needed to make my own version of a mushroom burger. It came out great – give it a try!

ingredients (makes 2 burgers)
4 oz cremini (baby bella) mushrooms, cleaned and sliced with the stems removed
1 egg, beaten
1/3 container extra firm tofu
1 tbsp garlic, minced
1/8 c. parmesan cheese
olive oil
salt and pepper
1/4 c breadcrumbs
1/4 c walnuts

instructions
1. toast the walnuts in a dry nonstick pan over medium high heat. just toss them around in the hot pan every minute or so, until they start to smell good. drop those babies in the food processor.
2. put a splash of olive oil in the pan, and when it shimmers, add the mushrooms. saute 2 minutes. add the garlic and stir, and cook 1 additional minute, stirring occasionally. add to food processor.
3. slice the tofu into 1/2 inch thick planks and add to the hot pan. saute for 1 minute, until they look drier – you don’t want to add excess water to the food processor. add them to the processor.
4. add the egg and breadcrumbs to the mixture in the food processor, and blend until chunky but combined. mold the mixture into two patties.don’t panic if it looks a little loose at this point – it will firm up in the pan.
5. heat another splash of olive oil over medium high heat. when it shimmers, add the patties. cook about 5 minutes on each side, until brown and crispy, and cooked through.
getting crispy!
6. serve on a roll, or over a salad. I topped mine with spicy-sweet pepadew peppers, a little parmesan cheese, and balsamic vinagrette.

One response to “Mid-Week Quickie: Mushroom Walnut Tofu Burgers

  1. Great idea for my vegan house guest this weekend! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

